Exciting things happen when you wander downtown IC

A day in the life of a journalism student isn’t always easy. You wake up early, you get blown off and then you have a lot of time to spare. So, as I wandered aimlessly from Dubuque and Clinton St. towards the pedmall I stumbled upon a crowd of people decked out in red, white and blue.

The crowd was roaring, howling and clapping.  Students, adults and seniors gathered to show how important the right to vote is. News stations were filming and interviewing individuals who had come out to support early voting and more importantly to this crowd, voting for Obama.

You might wonder what this has to do with public art. What I can tell you is that even when your whole morning has gone astray a simple mishap can lead you into a fortune.

It turns out while my audio interview about the BenchMarks project is going to be on hold for a while, I discovered a few new ideas about IC art adventures I can share with you all. These ideas stemmed from my curiosity about the Obama voting rally.

By following this crowd on their march to the Iowa City Public Library I discovered a garden outside of the library that is done in part by the New Pioneer Food Co-Op, simply by the fresh scent of basil wafting to my nose through the breeze. A voter waiting in line also suggested that I check out the University of Iowa Museum of Art and their First Friday events that feature new artists and exhibits each month.

I even got to vote early AND for my first time!

It is times like these that life works in mysterious ways. I hope you all open your eyes this weekend and discover new art as well as watch the leaves start to change.

This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Exciting things happen when you wander downtown IC

  1. Thanks for joining us today! I’m excited you got to vote for the first time and on the first day! There was talk of a flash mob occurring through another organization, but I didn’t see it. That would have been an interesting form of public art for you to talk about.

  2. cinderyliang says:

    I definitely believe that people is art and I see the connection between this post and public art. However, I kinda wish there were some photos of the crowd though.

  3. John says:

    Nice post, but find a way to bring images to both of them!

Leave a Reply

